Solution for Nokia E7 Not Charging via USB Problem

Update 2012/09/20: Since I wrote this, I realized that my tips below only work randomly and not reliable enough to be labelled as solution. Maybe it was random luck that made it work. Sorry for that. I was about to delete this post, but there have been few suggestions by the reader in the comments that may help instead.

————-

My Nokia E7 simply didn’t want to charge via USB. From Google I know that if the phone is completely dead it may take a while (some say up to 15 minutes) to recognize the charging, but in this case, my phone was not dead. I still have at least one bar of battery, I simply want to charge it, I plugged in the USB cable in the usual port in my computer, and nothing happened.

If that’s the case with your E7, then maybe these tricks below help.

Turn off the phone. Turn off the phone while keeping the USB cable connected. After few seconds, your phone may beep and start charging. The light on the phone’s USB port should blink five times, and the phone would start up (i.e. showing the white splash screen. It’s not the full blown start up but rather start up to “dead” mode just to display that charging is in progress), and you’ll see the light on the phone’s USB port is lit continuously.

If charging doesn’t start this way, disconnect the USB cable, wait for few seconds, and reconnect it. It often fixed the problem for me.

Once charging has commenced in “dead” mode, you may try to start the phone. I found that in most cases the phone would continue charging in “running” mode if you start it this way.

Change to another USB port. Recently, the above trick no longer works for me. If I plug the USB cable in the same USB port in my computer that normally works (while the phone is dead), the light blinks five times, then the phone boots (showing the white screen), but then it stops, and the phone’s USB light indicator is off. The battery indication is shown, but it’s not moving (i.e. it doesn’t show that charging is happening).

When this happened, I found that moving the cable to different USB port in my computer works.

Hope these help.

19 Comments

Filed under Stuff

19 responses to “Solution for Nokia E7 Not Charging via USB Problem

  1. P

    Encountering the same problem on my E7 and N8. This problem did not exist on these phones until I upgraded to Belle. It seems to me that this is a bug in the Belle operating system.

  2. wajid khan

    my nokia e7 is not charging and phone was off i on the phone it was not on i connect the phone in the charge the light was blinking in 5 minutes aftar blinkin phone was not on

  3. pengpeng

    hi, my E7′s charging pin is not working. what you are saying here, the USB port, is it connected to the HDMI port?where can i get the HDMI cable?thank you.

  4. Tobtex

    There’s a quicker way to make your phone charge if it doesn’t want to respond. Once you connect you USB to the computer and to your phone. A menu will pop asking you to choose the USB mode, simply select Mass Storage, your phone will start charging. And if it doesn’t you can change the USB port, i do that also… I hope this helps

  5. David Pickford

    Like others my phone was fine until i installed Belle and now it will not charge and uses huge amounts of power. It is also difficult to switch from mstandby to active mode via the side button. Never again with Nokia, sick of all the problems with their phones

  6. G Gunawardena

    Hi

    I thought this might help someone who observes the charging LED blinking continously.

    It happened to me when the battery was discharged fully during GPS activity. The phone apperas dead and all attempts to charge failed. Having developed sufficient courage to remove battery ( procedure given elsewhere) I found that the batter was readaing 3.4 volts under no load. You need a DVM to read this. The stated battery voltage is 3.7 volts. I had two options; swap the battery with someone elses’s, or charge the battery externally. 1st option was a non starter since I do not have anyone who would allow me to dissect the hand set. So I decided to charge the battery externally.

    Connect 3 penlite cells serially. i.e postive of one to negative of other. That way you end up wuth a battery of 4.5 volts.Connect two wires to the poles of this battery. Do not allow them to touch each other.

    This step has to be done with extreme care. The battery poles are marked in the nokia battery. There are 3 pins in Li ion batteries. Identify the + and -, The third wire is not relevant here. . Carefully hold the poitive wire to ;positive of the nokia battery and the negative wire to negative. Maintain this state for about a minute. Disconnect and measure the Nokis battery voltage. It should read 3.7. If not repeat procedure.

    Once the battery reads 3.7 insert the battery back in handset and connect charger. The blinking will stop and the expected charging cycle will begin.

    (warning.. I bear no responsibility for any other result than above or any other misfortunes after trying the abive procedure). It just saved me from going to Nokia service centre and waiting for two weeks without my contacts and other stored data.

  7. thank you…
    i think it’ll be helpfull for others… bcs i already triesd in this way three times but in vain and now my e7 is totally dead even nokia service center couldn’t repare that….
    so pls let me know more……. if any new solution invented

    • Alia

      I had the same problem, took it to Nokia and they said couldn’t fix it, (sniff), and thought I would have to bury my trusted E7, then in a last ditch attempt to revive it, I took it to a cellphone repair shop and I had it back within a day, working beautifully, with everything intact, contacts, apps, everything! But now I’ve updated to Belle, and my phone won’t charge via USB…!

  8. I have another solution but work randomly, connect the usb cable to computer after that to the phone. The light be blinking and turn off, leave it and five minutes later the phone self repeat the process five or ten times until the charging cycle will begin.. the only drawback is leave your computer turned on until the baterry show full

  9. Sandeep

    Kind of similar problem. I had the ‘not charging’ issue a while back and had to shell out Rs. 3500 (~USD 70) to get a charging chip changed. I had bought my phone from outside India but Nokia India just wouldn’t provide the support under warranty. Since the phone was an expensive one, decided to get the d@rn chip changed. Now, 2 months into changing the chip, the charging USB port has become ‘loose’. Yes, if I don’t plug in the USB charger and keep the phone inclined keep something to push the phone down, it doesn’t charge. It’s not that I play with my phone. The Nokia guys at the service center are going to hear from me soon, but before that, thought I’d ask around – ‘has anyone had such a problem?’. Second and possibly more importantly, a guesstimate on how much those guys might charge me to change the charging port?

  10. This has work for me (27Jun2013) – thank you:
    Turn off the phone. Turn off the phone while keeping the USB cable connected. After few seconds, your phone may beep and start charging. The light on the phone’s USB port should blink five times, and the phone would start up (i.e. showing the white splash screen. It’s not the full blown start up but rather start up to “dead” mode just to display that charging is in progress), and you’ll see the light on the phone’s USB port is lit continuously.

    If charging doesn’t start this way, disconnect the USB cable, wait for few seconds, and reconnect it. It often fixed the problem for me.

    Once charging has commenced in “dead” mode, you may try to start the phone. I found that in most cases the phone would continue charging in “running” mode if you start it this way.

  11. Vgnesh

    I am having this problem with E7-Anna, sometimes it charges, sometimes it does not. In this context I have noticed several points: 1. On connecting the E7,pc reports “Instlling software” and then it says “not installed”. 2. Sometimes it says “unrecognized device”.

    These can be solved by updating your Nokia Suite. Dont know why, but it helps. Also, if you connect using a USB hub, then there will be problems due to bugs in the HUB software. This can be remedied by connecting the E7/N8 directly to the PC. Another point is sometimes this “unrecognized device” message appears if you use third party USB cable. If you use Nokia cable, these problems disappear. Again, do not ask why. This is based on my experience. I Have C7, N8 and E7 and a laptop and both original and 3rd party USB cables.

  12. shana

    my phone is nokia e7.i cant charge my phone as its charging port (chip) as been removed by the service center and they says that it does not work,the phone is dead..will i be able to charge my phone through phone usb port? can u help me to solve my problem,please…

  13. Igor

    Hi!
    I had the same problem with my Nokia E7 It’s 2 year old now and never let me down. I had small problem’s, when it’s freezes i just press pover and home button for 15-20 sec. its weebrate 3 times and sveech off Power on and all ok. When was tottaly empty battery, did’t charge. I took battery out, charged for 1 min externally, and it works!!! It does cherge again ))) Thanks for posting this
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LNCwCHl0Uk0 here how to remove battery. My e-mail is igorbfyvm@mail.ru

  14. Igor

    Hi!
    I had the same problem with my Nokia E7 It’s 2 year old now and never let me down. I had small problem’s, when it’s freezes i just press pover and home button for 15-20 sec. its weebrate 3 times and sveech off Power on and all ok. When was tottaly empty battery, did’t charge. I took battery out, charged for 1 min externally, and it works!!! It does charge again ))) Thanks for posting this
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LNCwCHl0Uk0 here how to remove battery. My e-mail is igorbfyvm@mail.ru

  15. harie

    my phone battery was dead and before charging it fell down, and then onwards it is not charging… tried all the options… can someone help me how to charge and make it work….

Leave a Reply

